ADBC

What I Learned Most About Myself This Summer.

Posted on: August 19, 2011

You’re an Intern. Be Dangerous. You’ve Nothing to Lose.
-Mark Fenske

I looked at that quote everyday for the entire summer. Even though summer is almost over, I want to still keep that intern mentality going back to school and not think of myself as a student. I think if you’re in the “student” mentality, you think of your projects as assignments. I want to keep looking at projects as “work”. It holds them to a much higher standard.

Our internship didn’t start this summer. It started August 2010. It’ll continue until May 2012, when we’re classified as “professionals”. Hopefully I can find a place that will let me live that Fenske quote.

During the summer, I felt I accomplished the most when I would go off by myself, to a place where people wouldn’t see or care that I talk to myself, and think. Ask myself questions. Tough questions. Then really think if I’m making any sense, or if I’m just plain stupid. Argue with myself.

Colin Drummond, Head of Planning at OgilvyWest, mentioned that Alex Bogusky believes any creative person needs to be a high self-monitor. Colin likes to look for the cultural tension that every brand has in it’s place in the world. That tension creates dialogue (good or bad) but either way, it’s get attention. It cuts through the clutter, which is half the battle.

To me, being a high-self monitor doesn’t mean watch what you say (although I can see when you’d want to), but judge your thoughts to see if they have that cultural tension. Does it make me uncomfortable?

I thought it was interesting when Colin says that he thinks of himself as a normal person. He uses himself as a barometer to measure whether he thinks an idea has enough tension. I think we all know when something is cool or not, regardless if you’re in advertising.

Thanks to everyone at Ogilvy LA for teaching me so much, and allowing me to grow through so many opportunities. It was an amazing time!

Leave a comment

Pages